

Legislative Council Select Committee

MEDIA RELEASE

16 July 2021

Inquiry into Road Safety in Tasmania

On 29 June 2021 the Legislative Council resolved to establish a Select Committee to inquire into and report upon ways in which to improve road safety in Tasmania.

The motion to establish the Inquiry was made by Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC. Mrs Armitage noted that, despite the National Road Safety Strategy 2011-2020 target of a 30 per cent reduction of fatalities and serious crashes in all jurisdictions, the rates of such incidents in Tasmania had risen.

Mrs Armitage also noted that Tasmania had a rate of 6.6 deaths per 100 000 population, double that of Victoria. Of particular concern, there were 36 fatalities and 272 serious crashes in Tasmania in 2020, a year when it could be expected that there would be less vehicles on Tasmanian roads.

The Committee intends to advertise the Inquiry in Tasmania's three main daily newspapers on Saturday, 17 July 2021 and call for submissions by Friday, 27 August 2021. The inquiry webpage is located at:

https://www.parliament.tas.gov.au/ctee/council/LC%20Select%20-%20Road%20Safety.html

Submissions received are generally made publicly available via the Inquiry webpage prior to the Committee reporting. The Inquiry may accept confidential submissions but it should be noted that confidential information cannot be subsequently used in the Inquiry's Final Report. The Inquiry cannot consider or resolve any individual disputes.

Members of the Committee are:

Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC (Inquiry Chair) Hon Jo Palmer MLC Hon Tania Rattray MLC Hon Bastian Seidel MLC (Inquiry Deputy Chair)

For further information: Hon Rosemary Armitage MLC, Inquiry Chair - 0419 341 178

ends